bringonthechallenge

Just another WordPress.com site

Gung Hey Fat Choy! (Happy Chinese New Year)

on January 25, 2012

Gung Ho! Bok Choy! No? Well, the Chinese say it better than I. 🙂

New teacher + new blog+ new year  = new experience!

I’m starting this blog with the intent of learning more than I teach.  Isn’t that how all of life should be? 🙂

This school year, 2011-2012, is my very first year of teaching! I’m in a 2nd grade classroom with some incredible smarties, and I am loving every moment of it.  I can’t imagine better people to spend my days with.

Here are some of my favorite things from our classroom right now:

This is our interactive MLK bulletin board.  Each piece of construction paper has a question on it, and the students can flip them up to find the answers.  The pictures surrounding the questioning feature Martin Luther King, Jr, Rosa Parks, Coretta Scott King, Ruby Bridges, etc.  My kiddos LOVE getting to use this bulletin board.

 

For the past 2 days, we’ve been studying Chinese New Year, which started on January 23rd.  We read ‘Lion Dancer: Ernie Wan’s New Year,’ we watched a video of lion dancers and dragon dancers, we talked about the parades, we made red envelopes like the ones they receive in China.  And then. AND THEN!  The kiddos made these dragon masks and they practiced their dragon dancing.   Then they picked up the red envelopes filled with well wishes, paraded down the hallway (always moving – the dragons must not stop moving) and into a 1st grade classroom.  Each 1st grader received an envelope from one of my kiddos and my students taught them a little bit about Chinese New Year.

Click here  for the dragon mask template.

 

In readers workshop, we’re working on question and the question-answer reationship (QAR).  This is our latest, and most detailed, anchor chart.  Let me tell you, these 2nd graders are expert questioners.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this first post, and please, come back for more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

